Womens Engineering Society: Inspiring women as engineers, scientists and technical leaders

Role Models

Julia Yeomans

Back to list

Professor Julia Yeomans

Awards: EPSRC Advanced Fellowship, 1990-95; University of Oxford Teaching Award, 2008; ERC Advanced Grant, 2012


In 1976, Professor Yeomans was awarded B.A. Physics, First class honours degree from Oxford University. She gained her D. Phil. at Oxford and then spent two years as a post-doc at Cornell University in the U.S.A.

Professor Yeomans runs a research group in theoretical soft matter physics and has recently been awarded an Advanced Grant of 1.5 million Euros from the European Research Council. This prestigious grant will enable Professor Yeomans’ group to investigate questions that combine hydrodynamics and statistical physics, such as how bacteria can mix a fluid or the design of super-water-repellent surfaces.

ERC Advanced Grants allow exceptional established research leaders to pursue ground-breaking, high-risk projects that open new directions in their research fields.

Julia has presented lectures at many major international conferences. The subjects she has covered include: Wetting and Capillarity in Complex Systems; Mesoscale Simulations; Liquid Crystal Rheology; Science of Inkjet and Printed Drops; Complex Liquids at Structured Surfaces; Superhydrophobic surfaces; and Swimming at low Reynolds numbers and Stirring by Microswimmers.

Julia is part of the NSERC Physics Evaluation Group and on the committee to assess ERC Starting Grants. She has been consulted an International Expert in her field most recently on the Audit Committee at the Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (2012) and the University of Tampere (2011).

Julia's outreach work includes:

2009 - 2011

Lead exhibitor, Nature’s Raincoats, RS Summer Science Exhibition.

Techfest, Mumbai

Oxfordshire Science Festival

Cheltenham Science Festival

2008 - 2011

Judging Panel: IoP Women in Physics Group Very Early Career Award.

2007, 2009, 2011

SET for Britain, Judge.


Leader, UK delegation, 2nd IUPAP Conference, Women in Physics.

2006 - Present

Advisory Panel of the Institute of Physics Women in Physics Group.

Back to list

Our supporters